Digital slotless magnetic system (DSMS)

Tips and tricks about building a car. painting it a making it run smooth.
mymax1972

Digital slotless magnetic system (DSMS)

Post by mymax1972 »

Hi everyone,

Max's here, this is my first post in this forum, just joined. Just few things to introduce myself, 51 y.o., electronic engineer, I love programming and create things with IoT, I am also an avid modeler with 3D printing.

I was used to play with slot cars when I was very young and two years ago I discovered what Wes Raynor created as slotless car. Amazing.
Quite recently I have discovered this forum, very interesting content here, many posts were very useful to design my idea to move to digital.

Let me share my idea and where I am in terms of progress update, any suggestion and/or recommendation are more than welcome :)

DSMS (Digital slotless magnetic system) is structured around three main unit types: Cars, Controllers and one Central Unit.
Each unit contains an ESP32 microcontroller unit (a sort of tiny processor) able to communicate via a low-level proprietary WiFi protocol (ESP-NOW).
Remote controllers communicate with cars (throttle, direction) and cars communicate with the central unit.

What is different in this design is the way the car is built. Cars are designed in a way that the builtin-in ESP32 microcontroller controls four devices:

1) Front axle ONLY CONNECTED with a servo motor to steer
2) Magnetic cursor to follow the wire underneath the track, connected with a digital encoder to get the steering angle (NOT CONNECTED with the front axle)
3) Rear axle connected to a DC motor
4) IR Receiver to understand where the car is (i.e. pit-lane, start/arrival lane)

The core concept here is having decoupled magnetic cursor (that follows the wire) from the front axle. Front axle is driven by the servo, and servo is driven by the ESP32 microcontroller based on the wire input (thanks to the magnetic encoder) or based on the user input (by the remote controller).